When was the hobbit written?

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien was written in 1937.

---

Tolkein began work on The Hobbit in the early 1930s while marking school papers. He found a blank page and wrote, "In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit." By late 1932 he had finished the story and shared it with friends. It eventually reached the publisher and was released in September 1937.