What is sand coffee?

Traditionally, a cup of Turkish coffee is brewed using a pan filled with sand, heated over an open flame. A brewing cup called a ches ve is used. When left on the surface of the sand it stays warm, and the heat can be adjusted by its depth in the sand. This allows for total control over the heat.