How early can babies start walking?

Some babies start walking as early as 6 months, however, most babies usually hit the walking milestone a bit later, between 9 and 18 months.

---

Healthline.com quote: "there’s a tremendous variance...usually between 8 1/2 & 20 months." Encyclopedia Britannica quote: "most infants begin crawling 7 to 10 months, by 12 months they can stand up alone. The average baby is able to walk with help by 12 months & walk unaided by 14 months."