How do i know if asparagus is still good?

Fresh asparagus has green firm, smooth stems and tightly clustered "flower buds" at the end. As asparagus ages, the stems become shrunken, wrinkled and yellowish, and the "flower buds" will start to open up. Asparagus that is not good to eat has yellow, wrinkled stems and wet, slimy buds.