What is gelatin made out of?

Gelatin can come from the collagen in cow or pig bones, hides and connective tissues. Today, the gelatin in Jell-O is most likely to come from pigskin. ... During this process, the large collagen protein ends up being partially broken down; the resulting product is a gelatin solution.