When did horses come to america?

In 1493, on Columbus' second voyage to the Americas, Spanish horses were brought to North America, first in the Virgin Islands, and then in 1519 they were introduced on the continent, in what is now Mexico. From there they radiated outward throughout the American Great Plains.