What's the difference between red and white onions?

Both red and white onions are quite similar to each other in terms of their texture, flavour and aroma. They have notes of mild sweetness coupled with a crunch that feels fresh on the palate. White onions have a thinner skin and flesh as compared to the red ones that are meatier