Is a thumb a finger?

No, The thumb contrasts with each of the other four by being the only digit that: Is opposable to the other four fingers. Has two phalanges rather than three. Has greater breadth in the distal phalanx than in the proximal phalanx

---

No. The thumb is the short, thick first digit of the human hand. A hand consists of four fingers and a thumb.