How did the harlem globetrotters get their name?

The name came from the team’s manager, Abe Saperstein. The Globe Trotters, originally from Chicago in 1929, changed their name to the New York Harlem Globe Trotters in belief that the name would make the team a greater draw in Illinois. Not until 1968 did the team actually play a game in Harlem.