Who said life liberty in the pursuit of happiness?

Thomas Jefferson proposed a similar phrase. A Congressional committee edited it to "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness."