What's inside a rattlesnakes tail?

There's nothing inside a rattlesnake's tail. The tail consists of a series of hollow keratin buttons. Three powerful muscles at the base of the tail make it vibrate 90 times per second. The buttons click together, causing the buzzing or rattling sound