What's the difference between a bathing suit and a swimsuit?

Many people consider the terms, bathing suit and swimsuit, to be equal, but a subtle difference is that a bathing suit is appropriate for sun bathing and light swimming, but might not hold up to diving or vigorous swimming, while a swimsuit should stay on, even in rough water play.