What does orthopedist mean?

An orthopedist is a doctor who focuses on caring for bones, joints, ligaments, nerves, and tendons. Some orthopaedists are generalists, while others specialize in certain areas of the body such as hips, knees, feet, ankles, shoulders, elbows, hands, or spines.