What is the fluid ounces allowed on an airplane?

According to the Transportation Security Administration, you may bring a quart-sized bag of liquids, aerosols, gels, creams, and pastes in your carry-on bag through the security checkpoint. These items are limited to travel sized containers that are 3.4 ounces or less per item.