What's a brown recluse look like?

Brown recluse spiders are usually between 6 and 20 millimeters (0.24 and 0.79 in). While typically light to medium brown, they range in color from whitish to dark brown. These spiders usually have markings on their dorsal side with a black line that looks like a violin.