What's the recommended amount of caffeine per day?

While no caffeine is recommended, up to 400 milligrams (mg) of caffeine per day appears to be safe for most healthy adults. That's roughly the amount of caffeine in four cups of brewed coffee, 10 cans of cola or two "energy shot" drinks.