How do you bake a turkey for thanksgiving?

The general rule for cooking a turkey in the oven is 20 minutes per pound at 350°F. It will vary depending on whether or not your turkey is stuffed or unstuffed. The best way to know when your turkey is done is by checking the internal temperature of 165°F as measured with a food thermometer.