What is a designated marksman rifle?

A designated marksman rifle has an attached telescopic sight, stabilizing bipod and has low-recoil. They generally have semi-automatic firing capability (more rapid than bolt-action sniper rifles) and a magazine capacity of 10, 20, or 30 rounds.