What is an aqualung?

The modern name for the aqualung is SCUBA, meaning Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus. The aqualung works using a regulator. It lets a person breathe in and out through the same mouthpiece. The regulator connects to a tank of compressed air, which is connected to a vest.