What is a silicate?

A silicate is any compound which contains Silicon and Oxygen that is chemically combined in various inorganic salts found in rocks, usually in the SiO4 form or radical.

---

A silicate is a salt in which the anion contains both silicon and oxygen, especially one of the anion SiO42− or any of the many minerals consisting primarily of SiO42− combined with metal ions, forming a major component of the rocks of the earth's crust.