What happened to val kilmer?

Kilmer's throat cancer diagnosis was not publicly confirmed until 2017, 2 years after the actor was first hospitalized for the condition. By then, he had undergone chemotherapy and a tracheotomy procedure that abraded his voice to a rasp. In 2020, the actor said he had been cancer-free for 4 years.