What happened in the beginning of the world?

If you mean the universe, the prevailing scientific theory is an explosion of energy into matter, which resulted in the galaxies, solar systems, and planets we now see. Ancient religious texts such as the Bible beautifully express it this way: In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.