How do you start a sourdough starter?

Mix equal parts all-purpose flour and water and leave at room temperature in a loosely covered glass or plastic container. Every day, pour off about half of the mixture and add equal parts flour and water again. When the mixture is very bubbly and smells sour, it is ready. This takes about 5 days.