What does it mean when a hard boiled egg floats in water?

This means the egg is older, but it should be perfectly safe to use. Eggs have an air cell that becomes larger as the egg ages and acts as a buoyancy aid. An egg can float in water when its air cell has enlarged sufficiently to keep it buoyant.