Tell me the ugly doll story?

The story begins in 2001, when Horvath sent a love letter to his then-girlfriend Sun-Min Kim (they are now married) and signed it with a drawing of a quirky creature with big, staring eyes. “She took one of the funny drawings I was sending and decided to turn [it] into a doll,” Horvath says.