How many whiskers do dogs have?

The number depends on the size of the dog. In general dogs have 40 whiskers on their upper lips 4 to 8 whiskers above their eyes 2 to 4 whiskers on their cheeks and a smattering of whiskers on their chin. Dog whiskers are special hairs to help collect scent and let dogs know where they are in space.

---

Dogs can have up to 20 whiskers on each side of their upper lips, depending on the size and breed of the dog.