What's the difference between a gastroenterologist and a proctologist?

Proctologists are different than gastroenterologists, though both deal with gastrointestinal issues in patients. Gastroenterologists perform diagnostic procedures. They do not often perform surgeries to treat patients. That is the role and specialty area of the proctologist.