Is olive oil the same as vegetable oil?

No, it is not. Most assume that an olive is a vegetable. It is actually a fruit. While olive oil is used as cooking oil it imparts a distinctive taste to any dish in which it is used. Olive oil has a lower smoke point than many cooking oils.