How do you clean a scorched pan?

To clean a scorched pan, pour a small layer of equal parts water and white vinegar on the bottom of the pan. Heat the diluted vinegar on the stovetop and allow it to come to a boil. After it boils for a minute, remove it from the heat and drain the vinegar down the sink.