What is the telephone consumer protection act?

The Telephone Consumer Protection Act is a federal law that was passed in 1991. The Act was signed into law by President George H. Bush, and it amended the previous Communications Act of 1934 . The Act restricts telemarketers and the usage of automated telephone equipment.