Is vietnam in southeast asia?

Yes. In contemporary definition, Southeast Asia consists of two geographic regions: Mainland Southeast Asia, also known historically as Indochina, comprising Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Peninsular Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam.