Why do dogs hide their bones?

Your dog is just practicing the canine instinct of food hoarding. ... If a dog was lucky enough to find something to eat, he had to compete with other dogs in his pack—not to mention other animals—to keep his spoils. So dogs would bury bones and carcasses near their den.