What does it mean when a recipe says cream together?

When a recipe says cream together certain ingredients, it is telling you to mix them together until they are combined into a smooth, consistent whole. For example, if a recipe says cream butter and sugar, start by beating room temperature butter until it is smooth then beat in the sugar til smooth.