What is up your nose with a rubber hose mean?

"Up your nose with a rubber hose", is a phrase that was intended to be an insult, or a retort to an insult. It was written for the character Vinnie Barbarino in the TV Series "Welcome Back Kotter" in the 1970s. The phrase, or a similar one, was used because of its rhyming and its cadence