What's the difference between capital murder and murder in the first degree?

Capital murder refers to the crime of murder that carries the death sentence as a penalty. Murder in the first degree refers to the crime of killing a person where the intent to do so was planned in advance of the act. Not all first degree murders carry the death sentence as a penalty.