What is this word f. a. u. c. e. t.?

F-A-U-C-E-T spells "faucet," which refers to a device that controls the flow of a gas or liquid at the end of a hose, pipe, or container.

---

According to Merriam-Webster.com, a faucet is a noun defined as "a fixture for drawing or regulating the flow of liquid especially from a pipe."