What's the difference between calories and k. calories?

1 kilocalorie (kcal) = 1000 calories (cal). By convention in food science, the large calorie is commonly called Calorie (with a capital C by some authors to distinguish from the smaller unit). The "calorie" we refer to in food is actually kilocalorie.