Who is harambe the monkey?

Harambe, a 17-year-old silverback gorilla who celebrated his 17th birthday on May 27, dragged the young boy through a moat inside the enclosure. Zoo officials said in a press release they considered the situation to be “life-threatening” and made the difficult decision to kill the rare gorilla.