What is the tornado scale?

Tornados are rated by a set of guidelines known as the Enhanced Fujita Scale or EF scale which uses estimated wind speeds to assign a rating from EF0 to EF5. Wind speed is estimated by surveying the damage caused by a tornado and comparing it to a list of damage indicators and degrees of damage.