When did we start celebrating veterans day?

The Congress adopted a resolution on June 4th 1926, requesting that President Coolidge issue annual proclamations calling for the observance of November 11 with appropriate ceremonies. That was Armistice Day (WWI ended on November 11rh 1918). In 1954 Armistice Day was renamed Veterans Day in 1954.