How heavy is a baby whale shark?

Baby whale sharks weigh just a few pounds, and some sources suggest that they grow at the rate of about 49 cm a year, but due to a lack of data it has been difficult for scientists to be sure. Full-grown whale sharks eventually weigh around 21 tons (19 metric tonnes).