How long has man been around?

The current species of human ,Homo Sapiens, has been around for about 300,000 years . Other human species existed and died off, Neanderthals died off about 30,000 years ago, but had interbred with modern humans. All People of European and Asian descent carry about 1 to 4 percent Neanderthal DNA.