What were the attacks of september eleventh two thousand one?

4 planes were highjacked on 11 September 2001, 2 were deliberately crashed into the World Trade Center, the third was crashed into the Pentagon building in Washington, DC. The 4th crashed in Pennsylvania when the passengers prevented it from being used to crash into some other Government building