What was robert stroud convicted of?

Robert Stroud pled guilty to a charge of manslaughter in 1909. He stabbed and killed a guard and was convicted of murder in 1916. He then spent 54 years in prison, 42 of those in solitary. Taught himself and studied birds and published a book on ornithology. He was known as the Birdman of Alcatraz.