What was the blob made out of?

"The Blob" is a 1958, and 1988, American science fiction horror film. The blob is a deadly jelly-like alien entity from outer space, which crashes near a small town, and begins consuming everyone in its path. Panic ensues as shady government scientists try to contain the horrific creature.