How long do you cook fresh green beans in a pot?

For crisp tender green beans, boil them in a small amount of water for about 10 to 15 minutes. Using a basket steamer takes less time---place the basket in a pot and add water to just below the steamer. Add beans, cover and steam for about 5-10 minutes.