What's the rarest type of dog?

Depends on the list. Some #1 choices are Telomian (only known Malaysian breed), Stabyhoun (Friesland province of the Netherlands), Lagotto Romagnolo (a truffle-sniffer from Italy), Azawakh (African Sighthound), Fila Brasileiro (Brazilian Mastiff), and Mudi (herding dog from Hungary).