What is the law of surprise from the witcher?

The law of surprise can be claimed after doing a service for someone. It means that the person invoking the law is entitled to something the other person has but doesn’t know about yet. In The Witcher, they find a baby has been conceived and the child belongs to the person who invoked the law.