What is the song let it go all about?

Anderson-Lopez says when they began writing “Let It Go,” she knew they were dealing with a character who was feeling ashamed and afraid, who then pitched the idea of “let it go; as the hook, being about letting go of her past and expectations, and how it could be about letting her power go.