What is a substitute for white american cheese?

The best substitutes for American cheese are provolone, Monterey Jack, white cheddar, Oaxaca, fontina, mozzarella, Havarti, and Muenster cheese. Provolone is the closest match and will be a suitable replacement in just about any recipe.